BoxCast offers unlimited storage of videos for a certain time period based on the streaming plan you’ve selected. After the time included in your plan is over, you’ll be billed $0.49 per broadcast hour if you decide to keep those broadcasts on the BoxCast platform.
Here are the current storage limits for each BoxCast streaming plan:
Essential plan: Unlimited storage for 90 days. After 90 days, you’ll be billed $0.49 per broadcast hour.
Growth plan: Unlimited storage for 365 days. After 365 days, you’ll be billed $0.49 per broadcast hour.
Experience plan: Unlimited storage for 365 days. After 365 days you’ll be billed $0.49 per broadcast hour.
Premium plan: Unlimited storage for 365 days. After 365 days you’ll be billed $0.49 per broadcast hour.
If you’d like to upgrade your storage, reach out to your client manager or email CM@boxcast.com to add more storage to your account.
*Note: You can set your account to automatically delete broadcasts older than your plan’s included storage limit to avoid getting a storage bill. Scroll down to learn more.
Understanding How BoxCast Bills for Video Storage
If your BoxCast account is billed for storage, you’ll be charged for broadcasts that are active in your account for longer than your free storage duration. Free storage is provided in a rolling window. This means your free storage doesn’t begin from the moment you sign up with BoxCast — instead, each individual broadcast has a free storage window that begins counting from the start time of the broadcast. The exact rate you’ll be charged is specified in your contract (usually $0.49 per broadcast-hour).
The Dashboard lists all of these details for you to review, including the list of broadcasts that contributed to your bill, along with the amount you were charged for each specific broadcast.
Managing your Storage Bills in the BoxCast Dashboard
You can sign on to the BoxCast Dashboard to view your storage bills. Simply navigate to Settings > Storage to view past bills, see an estimate of your bill for next month, and change your storage policy.
Avoiding Storage Charges
To avoid being charged for storage, you have several options:
Go into the storage area of the dashboard and click on Edit for your storage policy and change it to Auto-Delete. This will delete all broadcasts that are over your storage policy limit. For example, if you have 1 year of free storage with BoxCast, anything that is 1 year or older will get deleted.
Download or export your recordings after the broadcast is over, and then delete the archived broadcast from your BoxCast Dashboard.
Delete older broadcasts that aren't as important, such as test broadcasts or redundant broadcasts (e.g. if you have both 9 am and 12 am services weekly, you might only keep one of them). You can switch to the list-view mode to delete several older broadcasts at once. This will keep your storage bill low.
• Tip 1: Switch to the list-view mode to delete several older broadcasts at once.
• Tip 2: Find the most costly broadcasts by looking at the storage bill details.
• Note: Analytics from deleted broadcasts remain as part of your account indefinitely.
Utilize “live-only” broadcasts if you have no desire to save a recording of a broadcast or wish to only offer the stream live to viewers.
If you have more questions about storage, please reach out to our billing team at firstname.lastname@example.org